Flora and Fauna on the Großer Arber

Flora

The peak of the Großer Arber is the highest point of the whole Bavarian-Bohemian border mountains, and it exceeds the tree line. Even trees like the spruce and rowan are rarely seen at this height. The mountain pine, however, thrives here. You can find specialist plants that have adapted to survive in these extreme conditions (cold, stoney, low-nutrient soil).

Until the end of the last ice age around 10,000 years ago, the Großer Arber was covered with ice. You can see plenty of rare plants from this time at the summit of the Großer Arber (“ice age relics”). After the ice age, the climate conditions meant that they could not spread; they are rare and endangered!

Fauna

You can often see rare animals near the summit as well. The Alpine accentor is one of the Arber summit’s ice age relics, and the Großer Arber provides a breeding ground for some water pipit pairs. Three-toed woodpeckers and peregrines also make the Großer Arber one of the most interesting mountains in the Bavarian Forest.

As well as these rare birds, lynx and wood grouses have also found a refuge around the Arber.

Arber Rangers

They guard and look after the summit, provide on-site information about the summit plateau’s special features, and make sure that visitors don’t damage the area. Participants of nature walks with the Arber Rangers can find out all about the nature and landscape. Stefan Beywl and Paul Kraus are Head Rangers, supported by Nature Park Rangers from the Bavarian Forest and Upper Bavarian Forest.

As a special highlight on the Großer Arber, you can book a nature walk with a Ranger. You not only get to peak behind the scenes of the ARBER-BERGBAHN, but also discover and experience the natural landscape that surrounds the “king of the Bavarian Forest”.

Flora und Fauna

Flora und Fauna am Großen Arber

Flora

Der Gipfel des Großen Arber erreicht als höchste Erhebung des gesamt Bayerisch-Böhmischen Grenzgebirges die Waldgrenze. Selbst Baumarten wie Fichte und Vogelbeere kommen in diese Höhe nur noch vereinzelt vor. Die Latsche dagegen bildet flächige Bestände. Unter den Pflanzen haben sich Spezialisten eingefunden, die den extremen Klima- und Bodenbedingungen (kalt, steinig, nährstoffarm) angepasst sind.

Zudem war der Große Arber bis zum Ende der letzten Eiszeit vor rund 10 000 Jahren mit Eis bedeckt. Aus dieser Zeit konnten sich auf dem Arbergipfel zahlreiche seltene Pflanzenarten (sogenannte "Eiszeitrelikte") halten. Unter den Klimabedingungen der Nacheiszeit konnten sie sich jedoch nicht mehr weiter ausbreiten. Sie sind daher selten und gefährdet!

Fauna

Im Gipfelbereich hat man oft das Glück seltene Tierarten bestaunen zu können. Die Alpenbraunelle zählt zu den Eiszeitrelikten des Arbergipfels, das Brutvorkommen einiger Bergpieperpaare im Gipfelbereich sowie der Dreizehnenspecht oder der Wanderfalke machen den Großen Arber zu einem noch interessanteren Berg im Bayerischen Wald.

Neben diesen seltenen Vogelarten haben aber auch Luchse und Auerhühner im Arbergebiet ein Refugium gefunden.

Die Arber-Ranger

Sie betreuen und überwachen den Gipfelbereich, liefern vor Ort Informationen über die Besonderheiten des Gipfelplateaus und halten die Besucher zu umweltgerechtem Verhalten an. In naturkundlichen Führungen mit den Arber-Rangern erfahren die Teilnehmer Wissenswertes zu Natur und Landschaft. Hauptamtliche Ranger sind die Herren Stefan Beywl und Paul Kraus, die von den Naturpark-Rangern Bayerischer Wald und Oberer Bayerischer Wald unterstützt werden.

Als besonderes Highlight am Großen Arber, können Sie eine Natur- und Rangerführung buchen. Sie schauen nicht nur hinter die Kulissen der ARBER-BERGBAHN, sondern entdecken und erfahren vielen über die Naturlandschaft rund um den "König des Bayerischen Waldes".